Yorkshire and Humberside

Yorkshire and Humberside is one of the administrative regions of the United Kingdom. It comprises the entire territory of historic Yorkshire and the northern part of historic Lincolnshire, spreading from the Pennines (a range of hills and low mountains, often called the "Backbone of England") in the west to the coast of the North Sea in the east and from the River Tees in the north to the Humber (the broad estuary of the Ouse, Trent and Hull rivers) in the south. The region has different landscape from the vast heather moorland in North Yorkshire to the gentle hills of Yorkshire and Lincolnshire Wolds. It is drained by the rivers Ouse, Tees, Hull, Swale, Ure, Esk and their tributaries. The main cities in Yorkshire and the Humber are Leeds, Sheffield, Bradford, Kingston upon Hull and York. Among the large towns and popular tourist destination we should mention Halifax and Doncaster. read more »

North Yorkshire:
» Aldwark
» Bedale
» Clapham
» Danby
» Darlington
» Easingwold
» Guisborough
» Harrogate
» York
» Morpeth
» Hawes
» Helmsley
» Hovingham
» Kexby
» Kirkbymoorside
» Malton
» Middlesbrough
» Monk Fryston
» Northallerton
» Pateley Bridge
» Pickering
» Reeth
» Richmond
» Ripon
» Rosedale Abbey
» Saltburn
» Scarborough
» Selby
» Settle
» Skipton
South Yorkshire:
» Barnsley
» Bawtry
» Doncaster
» Hellaby
» Little Matlock
» Rotherham
» Sheffield
West Yorkshire:
» Batley
» Bingley
» Bradford
» Brighouse
» Castleford
» Cleckheaton
» Clifton
» Dewsbury
» Garforth
» Gomersal
» Halifax
» Haworth
» Hebden Bridge
» Holmfirth
» Huddersfield
» Keighley
» Leeds
» Liversedge
» Marsden
» Otley
» Outlane
» Selby
» Shipley
» Wakefield
» Wetherby
East Riding of Yorkshire:
» Beverley
» Bridlington
» Driffield
» Kingston upon Hull
Yorkshire and Humberside
Check-in date:
Select check-in date
Order by:

More about Yorkshire and Humberside

Yorkshire is the UK's county with largest territory, considered as an independent geographic region, boasting rich history and specific cultural heritage. Some of the most picturesque green countryside on the island with the best preserved nature is located here and included mainly in the two large national parks in the region: Yorkshire Dales and North York Moors. We have included here destinations on the northern coast of the Humber (the broad tidal estuary in the North Sea of the large Ouse and Trent rivers), within the boundaries of the East Riding of Yorkshire.

York is the city that has given the name to the entire region, being its most important historic, cultural and educational centre. It was founded in ancient times (late 1st century AD) by the Romans as a constant camp of an entire legion (military unit of more than 5000 soldiers) in the newly conquered lands north of the Humber. The settlement was named Eboracum, a name with probable local Celtic origin. Its location was carefully chosen to be of high strategic importance: on the banks of the navigable River Ouse close to the confluence of one of its main tributaries - River Foss. In the next centuries the settlement grew into an important city, capital of the Roman province of Britannia Inferior. After the collapse of the Roman government in Britain York became the main seat of the kings of Northumbria and then Jorvik. In the Middle Ages it was an important wool trading and religious centre. During the time of the Industrial Revolution York grew into a major hub of the railway transport and industrial manufacturing. The main tourist sights in York include York Minster - one of the largest and most impressive Gothic cathedrals in Europe, built in the 13-15th centuries over the ruins of older Norman and early Christian churches, York Castle - a residential complex featuring architecture from Norman times to the late 19th century and the well preserved medieval city walls with a walk over them.

Leeds is a modern commercial and financial city, the third most populous in the UK. It grew from a modest market town into an important wool trading and producing centre in the 18th century. During the following Industrial Revolution its economic importance continued to grow and the city expanded over the territory of the surrounding villages turning into a lively urban centre. At present day Leeds is the most popular business and shopping destination in Yorkshire and Humberside. The beating heart of the city is the atmospheric Millennium Square. Around it are cluttered the main landmarks of Leeds, including the Town Hall and the City Museum.

Sheffield is one of the largest and in the same time greenest cities in the UK, a major industrial and commercial centre. It was founded as small Anglo-Saxon settlement on the banks of the River Sheaf (a tributary of the River Don that has given the name to the city) in the Middle Ages and grew into a world wide famous steel producing centre in the time of the Industrial Revolution. Today Sheffield is famous for its numerous parks and gardens (more than two hundred). More than the half of its district is green area and one third of it is included in the Peak District National Park. The most important city landmarks include Sheffield Walk of Fame and the Wheel of Sheffield. The city also boasts a rich collection of more than a thousand listed buildings.