North West of England

The land where the Industrial Revolution began and developed in the 18th century to create the Western Civilization as we know it today, the core area forming the once industrial might of the British Empire, the North West of England is famous for the exciting modern cities located in its largely urban central and southern area and the enchanting countryside of the Lake District in its northernmost part. The region stretches from the coast of the Irish Sea in the west to the picturesque rounded hills and moorlands of the Peak District and the Pennines in the east, from the Borders region of Scotland in the north to the urbanized West Midlands in the south. North West of England consist of the following counties: Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside. The largest cities of the region are Manchester, Liverpool, Warrington, Blackpool, Chester and Blackburn. read more »

» Chester
» Crewe
» Disley
» Frodsham
» Glazebrook
» Holmes Chapel
» Knutsford
» Macclesfield
» Nantwich
» Northop
» Northwich
» Oakmere
» Pulford
» Rossett
» Runcorn
» Sale
» Sandbach
» Tarporley
» Warrington
» Widnes
» Wilmslow
» Alston
» Ambleside
» Appleby
» Bampton
» Barrow In Furness
» Bassenthwaite
» Bowness On Windermere
» Carlisle
» Cleator
» Cockermouth
» Coniston
» Grange Over Sands
» Grasmere
» Hawkshead
» Kendal
» Keswick
» Kirkby Lonsdale
» Kirkby Stephen
» Lowick Green
» Millom
» Newby Bridge
» Penrith
» Ravenglass
» Shap
» Temple Sowerby
» Ulverston
» Watermillock
» Wheyrigg
» Windermere
Greater Manchester:
» Altrincham
» Ashton Under Lyne
» Blackrod
» Bolton
» Bury
» Cheadle
» Didsbury
» Dukinfield
» Hale
» Hyde
» Lymm
» Manchester
» Oldham
» Radcliffe
» Rochdale
» Salford
» Stockport
» Wigan
» Accrington
» Barton
» Blackpool
» Burnley
» Chorley
» Clayton Le Woods
» Clitheroe
» Darwen
» Fleetwood
» Heywood
» Lancaster
» Lytham St Annes
» Morecambe
» Ormskirk
» Poulton Le Fylde
» Preston
» Rossendale
» Samlesbury
» Skelmersdale
» St Annes On Sea
» Upholland
» Waddington
» Wrea Green
» Bromborough
» Frankby
» Haydock
» Knowsley
» Liverpool
» Oxton
» Prescot
» Southport
» Wallasey
» Wirral
North West of England
Check-in date:
Select check-in date
Order by:
North West Travel Articles:

More about the North West of England

The northern half of the North West is occupied by the non-metropolitan county of Cumbria. This is some of the most beautiful countryside regions in the United Kingdom. Here are located the entire territory of the fabulous Lake District (The Lakes), the delightful farmlands, quaint small towns and villages of the Furness Peninsula, the range of the North Pennines with its scenic moorlands, upland rivers and romantic small villages built entirely of stone, the idyllic valleys in the north-west area of Yorkshire Dales. The administrative, historic and cultural centre of Cumbria, its county town is Carlisle. Located in the delightful valley of the River Eden, it was founded as an ancient Roman settlement with the purpose to serve the military forces guarding the Hadrian's Wall. Its main tourist attraction is the well preserved Carlisle Castle, initially built in the 11th century by King William II of England. The headquarters and the main compuses of the University of Cumbria are located in the town.

Lancashire is the county of the historic city of Lancaster. Founded as an ancient Roman hill-top fortress over the ruins of a probable earlier Iron Age settlement, it grew into an important city that played a major role in the medieval history of the Kingdom of England. Its impressive castle on the hill by the River Lune was built in the 13th century over the ruins of the Roman fort, reconstructed and considerably enlarged in the 16th century by Queen Elizabeth I. Following the Industrial Revolution Lancashire grew into an important industrial region. Many mill towns and villages appeared and their prosperity was mainly related with the cotton production.

Cheshire is the southernmost county in the Northwest of England, bordering with Wales to the west. The administrative centre of the county is Chester. It was founded as an important Roman city on the River Dee where an entire legion had its headquarters. Today the city has a well preserved old town and is a popular destination for cultural tourism. The largest city in Cheshire is Warrington. It historically belongs to Lancashire but was administratively moved to Cheshire in 1974.