East Midlands, England

The East Midlands are one of the largest regions of England washed by the North Sea to the east. It is a predominantly flat rural countryside but also includes the picturesque uplands of the Peak District in its north-west corner (most of them are within Derbyshire), the legendary Sherwood Forest in Nottinghamshire to the west and the spectacular Lincolnshire Wolds - a range of gentle low hills with scenic steep valleys between them running from the Humber in the north to the Fenlands or the Fens in the south - a flat land of natural marshes (many of them drained and turned into agricultural land) along the coast of The Wash. The highest point of the region is in the Peak District on the moorland plateau Kinder Scout - 2087 ft (636 m) above sea level. The geographical centre of England is also within the region - in the village of Higham on the Hill, South-West Leicestershire. read more »

» Ashbourne
» Belper
» Buxton
» Cavendish
» Chesterfield
» Derby
» Glossop
» Grindleford
» Hathersage
» Kegworth
» Kings Mills
» Longnor
» Matlock
» Morley
» Newton Solney
» Palterton
» Sandiacre
» Shardlow
» Appleby Magna
» Ashby De La Zouch
» Castle Donington
» Coalville
» Hinckley
» Leicester
» Loughborough
» Lutterworth
» Market Harborough
» Markfield
» Melton Mowbray
» Rothley
» Shepshed
» Alford
» Boston
» Brigg
» Broughton
» Cleethorpes
» Grantham
» Grimsby
» Holbeach
» Horncastle
» Lincoln
» Louth
» Market Rasen
» Marston
» North Kyme
» Scunthorpe
» Skegness
» Sleaford
» Stamford
» Woodhall Spa
» Brackley
» Corby
» Daventry
» Desborough
» Ecton
» Flore
» Haringworth
» Kettering
» Northampton
» Oundle
» Syresham
» Towcester
» Weedon
» Wellingborough
» Whittlebury
» Annesley
» Mansfield
» Nottingham
» Retford
» Southwell
» Worksop
East Midlands
Check-in date:
Select check-in date
Order by:

More about East Midlands

The East Midlands have 6 counties: Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Rutland and Northamptonshire. Lincolnshire is the one with the largest territory between them. The main cities of the region are Leicester, Nottingham and Derby.

Lincoln is one of the region's major towns boasting rich historic and cultural heritage. It is most known for its ancient Roman ruins, impressive medieval castle and cathedral, both dating back to the time of William the Conqueror. The town is administrative centre of Lincolnshire - the county with the fourth largest territory in England. Northampton is another large town in East Midlands, situated on the banks of the River Nene and centre of Northamptonshire. It has the non-metropolitan district with the highest population in England (over 212.000). Boston is a port town in Lincolnshire. It is located a few miles from the sea, on the Haven - the tidal estuary of the River Witham into the Wash - a broad bay of the North Sea. The main landmark of the town is its large parish church dedicated to St Botolph, known as the Boston Stump for its impressively high tower lining up between the tallest church towers throughout England.

The River Trent is the largest river in the region and one of the main rivers in the UK as a whole. It flows from south-west to north-east mainly through Leicestershire and Nottinghamshire. The river is known for its "Trent Aegir" - a natural phenomenon when the incoming sea tide forms a wave (sometimes waves) running up the flow of the river. The River Trent is often considered the natural border between Southern and Northern England.

The entire stretch of coastline belonging to the East Midlands is within the boundaries of Lincolnshire. Known as Lincolnshire Coast, it is predominantly flat coastline, boasting more than 30 miles of fine sandy beaches atmospheric historic port towns and attractive seaside resorts, making it the ideal destination for a relaxed beach holiday away from the main tourist flows and the everyday stress of the large cities. The most popular seaside resorts are Cleethorpes in the north on the Humber and Skegness in the south on the Wash. Both of them were founded as Danish fishing villages in small bays serving as natural harbours during the Middle Ages. The main port towns on the Coast of Lincolnshire are Grimsby and Immingham. The coastal nature reserves in Lincolnshire are popular destinations for birdwatchers for their large populations of wading birds, especially on the coasts of the Humber and the Wash and the mouths of the large rivers flowing into them.

The Peak District National Park located mostly in Derbyshire is the oldest and one of the most visited parks in the United Kingdom for its extremely beautiful nature, picturesque landscape of smooth hills, rich flora and fauna.